The Tides

Tides wash away the day

Flotsam and jetsam of tomorrow

Awaiting to meet sand of yesterday

My thoughts like lagan lay buried

Churning seas push and pull at them

Still the tide wash away the day

Dreams like whitecaps ripple

Appearing here then there

Like illusions I long to hold

I watch them drift away

Yet still the tides wash away the day

Yesterday gives me place

Resting here I replay days

Beyond me hope floats

Riding waves free to move on

But still the tides wash away the day

*flotsam (floating debris) & jetsam (subsurface debris) are joined by lagan (sunken debris) here

2 thoughts on “The Tides

Leave a Reply

