A Rope

From the trail the old tree looks lopsided.  A solitary branch separated from the green leafy mass to the right. String of biege hangs still upon it.

The afternoon Sun puts a premium on shade.  The old tree makes for a good stop between isles of scrub bush.  The winds that were so free in morning have retreated.  Sound is hiding along with it too.

Under the tree, footprints paint a picture of a tussle.  It appears two or three on one. They circle under a rope tied into circle.  No signs of anyone left here. The cool respite may feel strange but it breaks the heat.  My eyes grew a bit heavy from the ride.  As I’m alone, rest should be about quickly. 

Slumber slips away from me. Dreams stir of people. Strange dark men hunting and calling out. Its a struggle oddly muffled. My eyes open to darkness. 

Arms have me and I lunge forward. They aren’t speaking my language. It feels they are questioning me.  My throat grows tight. My mouth opens but i have no breath to yell.

“Boys, you got the wrong one!” A voice distant rings.  

My mind grows dark.

“Does he look like Gus?” the voice continues.

I fade to black

6 thoughts on “A Rope

  1. Interesting story Mark. Love the descriptions at the beginning. Very well done and the ending leaves me wondering. What will they do to not Gus? Will they hurt him still? The rope is an eerie presence.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m working on something bigger. The threat of the rope and indifference to it is part of a thought. I have a whole 20-25,000 piece that’s in limbo. This will be a scene within it. Planning my story is a news trick for me

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

