Blessed Curse

“You must repeat your life! I’ll force you through another lifetime.  You’ll remember being powerless like a child! Everyone you knew will see you a stranger!” her words hiss as her eyes gets wider and brighter. “Cursed to be young with any old mind. Cursed to be orphaned! You’ll always remember me!

My eyes watch the world change.  I feel my body change. The world becomes taller about me.  The trees seem like monsters. The witch whom I still know nothing ofn stands above me.  Her face twisted in pleasure and her body curls to the right to look down upon at any angle.

“But I don’t understand. I’m young. Nothing hurts. The world is big and bold. You have blessed me to live knowing past mistakes.  I know not what I did to you. But I thank you.” I reach our with my little boy hand to shake her hand.

She is twice as angry with me now. Her hands curl in claw like fists.  Her complexion grows red.  Sharp teeth come out of hiding.

“So boy, you think this is better?! Where can you go? How will you eat? Who will look after you now!” Her face stays hideous.

“I have a lifetime to find out.” I smile with the innocence of youth.

She handed me the dream everyone thinks about, to have a second chance do live life all over again.

8 thoughts on “Blessed Curse

    1. Imagine all those things we could change that happened along the way. While it would fundamentally change who we become, reliving a new past would be incredible even with the hardships

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

