Panicked Breaths

My surprise lunch at home, truly a surprise.  My arrival goes unnoticed.  I look quickly and see lights on but not the body I’m looking for.  I hear muted voices.  

Laughter spills into the hall leading to the bedroom. It pauses and my wife in a loud whisper “Oh…I can’t believe you’re actually going to try doing that.”

My world freezes.  My world melts.  I drop the bags of fast food.  Like a ghost, I float toward a, mortal whim forgot my existence. 

My breathing panics as I confront a mystery.  Feelings of betrayal and wrestling to control a rapid heat beat leave me trapped.  Shallow rapid lunges of my lungs area all i can do. 

She laughs even more.  Giggles flow freely in a room I can no longer get to.  Each other stings like a bee.  I can see the hands of another reaching over her.  Lips whisper things that I couldn’t dream of saying aloud.  And she squeals really high pitch. 

My hands feel for the wall.  Unconscious, I pull myself forward. 

“Oh, my God.  You’re home! ” She yells.

There is noone there.  A TV.  A show with someone eating goldfish.  

I’m ghost white.   The thoughts have lead me to my own demise. 

“I brought lunch.  I wanted to surprise you.” I would say I try to recover.  But breathes are still at a premium. 
<a href="https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/panicked/">Panicked</a>

4 thoughts on “Panicked Breaths

      1. Especially in western states! They would probably not even check the phone to see if I called. police would help her clean up here too

        Like

Leave a Reply

