The Village

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Yarnspinner. Thank you Yarnspinner!

Below me the village spreads out.  I have a name but I’d prefer to make our meeting a surprise to him.   Business decision. My pack can only hold so many things that protect but remain unseen.  

The mountain ridge forms a spine.  It builds a beast is called isolation.  I couldn’t be any stranger to them down there. The advantage is noone knows why I’m passing through.   The old farmers some talk at me anyway.  And they are all that seems to live there. 

Their clan may decrease by one.  I reach back to the lower left pocket.   A six inch blade, pummel waiting for that firm handshake.  One’s man riches balance on that knife tip.  I have my opinion of whose riches should come out on top. 


Written as a part of a challenge called Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Details available at https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/2017/04/03/fffaw-challenge-week-of-april-4-2017/

16 thoughts on “The Village

    1. The picture made me do it! Clearly a hunters paradise to come into a sleepy village, isolated, noone knows what you’re doing there… Let’s face it sending him in for a few postcards is a nice twist but… 😉 Thanks darling

      Like

Leave a Reply

