Not So Pleasant Surprise

“I have a surprise for you.”  Derrick looks across the tiny wooden table crammed into their studio.  ” Pack a bag.  I’m taking you fit a quick three day trip.”

“Uh, what do you mean,  a quick the day trip? Where?” Sylvia’s face is all about excited at the thought. “It’s not that easy for me.   Do I need a heavy coat?  Is there dancing and a dinner at a really nice place involved?  Am I supposed to pack jeans and a tshirt?   You can’t expect me to just drop everything without sobe idea of what I’m doing.”

Derrick drops his coffee back to the table.   His mind knows why he didn’t do this very often.  

“It’s a cruise.   Nothing fancy.   One Captain’s dinner.   A day shipping on a city by the docks.  Picturesque bazaar toe thing,  I think.   Anyway,  I wanted to do something special.   So,  get ready.   We leave in a couple hours,  ok? ” He smiles. 

“Hours?  Are you kidding me?!  You know I needed new heels for the black dress.  They got wet on your last great idea. Suede didn’t come from ducks….. It better be a nice boat.” Sylvia keeps her half angry face as she gets up from the table.

“You’ll like it.   It’s a smaller boat.   We stay in a nice place.  Look at the picture on the brochure!”  He slowly realizes his words aren’t being heard. 
Written as part of a challenge called Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, details are available at  https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/2017/01/09/fffaw-challenge-week-of-january-10-2017/

2 thoughts on “Not So Pleasant Surprise

Leave a Reply

