Often Told Stories

My voice finds the same rut

I find different ears to meet 

The great story transcends 

We wear it like a glove

The red nose of a circus clown

Ring Master while  elephants march
Subtle as the skater pulling in arms

Whirling toward grace or disaster 

My mind plays the audience 

I watch for the smile or gaffe

Wide eyes versus distant expression 

I need this more than you

You’ll never know how much

The spark within comes giddy

Light from within you gives me purpose 

I smile and match what I crafted

I shake my head and wonder in magic

Magic of the often told story

I hold it til the next time 

To crush the ice of a stranger

When I return, I’m your friend

Magic exists in simple things

When you look not for belief

5 thoughts on “Often Told Stories

Leave a Reply

