Temptation 

The temptation is there 

It’s always there

A silent hunter stalking its prey 

Chewing on edges of my soul

Edges become frayed, non distinct 

I blended into that I need

Want gave way to necessity

Choice seems like a fond memory

Just one taste will sate the appetite

Never really helps adds more hunger

Time heals the wounds only to be torn

My mind says it’ll be ok

My heart tells me only with more

Ears know the brain makes things up

Touch is the most ravenous sense

Taste tries to rival it but fuels more need

Helpless I plunge into the dark pool

Temptation wins every time

I wear only a smile of acceptance

Down your long dark path again

One last time, I mean it

Leave a Reply

