Sleep Deprived

Deprive

Night slinks by like a cat.  It’s stillness prys at my brain.  I listen to noises muffled outside.   Critters chatter back and forth.  A racoon steals something another one screams.  I close my eyes another fifty times. Sleep, where are you?

Whoosh, whoosh, whoosh.  Ceiling fan moves cool air.  Maybe it’s too fast.  I itch.  A scratch rises to surface of my leg.  I ignore it.  It burns.  I scratch but it comes back.  I turn again.  And again.  And again.   The clock says 12:55.  It’s been longest ten minutes of my life.  Whoosh, whoosh, whoosh.

I open eyes.   I can see in the dark.   Everything is greyscale.  But there clear as day.  I walk into a dark room, nothing.  I struggle to sleep, vision plays with my head.

A car races down street.  Loud exhaust tells me where it’s going.  I don’t care.   But I know.   A wind stirs trees.   The branches laugh at me.  I turn…and turn.  The cat tired of my restlessness heads for better quarters.  I swear he is snoring already somewhere else.

1:00, oh dear God.

1:01, I watch a digital clock.  It’s not helping.  Whoosh,whoosh, whoosh.  Another car.  More racoons. More branches.  The pillow covers my head.

5 thoughts on “Sleep Deprived

    1. Yep that’s always the white flag. I think if I bury my head nothing will bother me. Unless your have cats then they would climb onto the empty pillow to sleep. ūüėÉ

      Like

Leave a Reply

