The Demons Take the Split

If you like to gamble, I tell you I’m your man,
You win some, lose some, it’s all the same to me,
The pleasure is to play, makes no difference what you say,
I don’t share your greed, the only card I need is
The Ace Of Spades

“The Ace of Spades” by

Mötorhead

The wedding party dances through time.  Everything was prefect.  The family was fantastic.  No crazy stories about her or my psycho relates.  The pile of gifts makes the front door an obstacle course.  Music blares.  Overdressed people still hustle through the reception.  We had a hour between events.

Chloe had danced with everyone at least once.   I did what was required.  I watched the crowd.   I smiled as not to be moody.   But the thought of what the hell did I do, swims in my veins.  I’m safe.  So is living in a bubble.

Dwight changed into jeans and a t-shirt embossed with a tux pattern.  His pole bean frame makes him look taller than six foot.  His eyes size up the ladies.  Our eyes follow the same pattern.  I want to laugh.   I’m starting at the same ones.   We linger on different ones.  But start at Hanna each time. 

In my arms, the bridesmaid makes the traditional dance slow death.   I long to sink my teeth at the base of that neck.  I was there one too many times.  She broke away to tease me a bit then comes back.

“She is good for you.   I’m a flame, hold me, and I’ll burn your hand.  Hold me down, I’ll burn down everything.   You need stable.  I can give you something else.   It’s yours one piece at a time.”  Hanna whispers into my ear near the end of the song.

The blue dress is a blur as she dances.  She could stop time in that dress.  I wonder about those stolen moments offered.

I’m half terrified.  I remember what she is.   Some parts remember better than others.  I hoping noone was watching.  But I know they were.  

Chloe, my blushing bride, comes back to steal me away.   Her all in good fun move, will be a necessity.  I giggle with Chloe.  It’s self defense.  She’s prefect.  Simple, caring, always worried about others.  She could make a great wife.   But I know how safe it is.   I could see two, three, four kids all crowded around us for the family picture.   But the tan rooms in the white house with the picket fence and two minivans…..

“I think I’m gonna take a quick run through the parking lot.  Want to sneak away for a couple minutes?” I talk like a man desperate to break his chain of thought.

“Silly, but cute.   It’s our party.   We both can’t go out.   They’ll send a kid to find us.   I don’t want to explain the handcuffs to a six year old!  But don’t make me miss you!   Five minutes! Mister!”  Chloe smiles.  She knows I hate crowds.   She will entertain the crowd of family.

I open the doors away from the hall.  The lot is full of cars, SUV’S and minivans. The summer night air stirs.  Humidity moves place to place.  A broken sky of clouds play peekaboo with the first quarter moon. 

I cross the long narrow lot.   A solitary picnic table calls me.  It has a voice.  The demon’s tone is unnerving because it’s smooth.  It’s texture is warm, but slightly off note.  The song of speech rings in my ears.  It brings to the surface all I choose to hide.

“Come here often?” Hanna sits down beside me. “Oh, the private man…  Dressed up and nowhere to go but a pond near a parking lot? Where did you want to go tonight, good sir?” Her head plops down on my shoulder.  Her right hand glides on to my thigh. Her intentions brazen.  She likes the chase and a nervous prey.

“I could take you right here.  On the picnic table…no, no.  I’ll take you into the pond.   I always wanted to do a mermaid.  If I could make those gills of yours gasp for air….” My mind talks true desire.  

We have been here before.  We flip the switch and destroy each others world.  She knows I’m good for it.   I knew she’s here to make sure I haven’t changed on her.  She choose safe for me.

“Now, get back to your wife.  Not even I do married men on their wedding night.   You owe me for those handcuffs.   I could only find the pink key. I still think you lost the blue one.”  Hanna smiles and kisses my neck in the wrong way.

I run at a fast walk. Back to my future. The past hangs close around my neck.

Parts 1 & 2
https://any1mark66.wordpress.com/2016/06/22/angels-and-demons-photo-challenge-118/?preview=true

https://any1mark66.wordpress.com/2016/06/22/angels-wins-round-one/?preview=true

4 thoughts on “The Demons Take the Split

  1. An unfortunate take for Chloe, the groom is only marrying her because she’s nice and seems as if she’s the right kind of wife. But then there is Hanna, a literal or figurative demon, perhaps both. I’m quite sure he’s cheated it’s her in the past, before he was married and will so again, after the wedding night. She is dangerous to him, an addiction he won’t give up. So sad for Chloe, she could’ve done so much better for herself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s the dilemma. He can’t hold on to Hanna because she’s not that kind of girl. So he’s going for safe. Hanna obviously had made herself available to him. The question is always when does it come apart

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The edge is a place of great action. When it happens, who takes the biggest fall. That’s where I’m at. Do angels forgive and which of the two of she does? Best friend or husband.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

