Strings Attached – Photo Challenge #112

image

Written as part of a challenge from Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie
https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2016/05/10/photo-challenge-112/

“I’m not sure I want to do this.”  My voice trembles.  The words fall flat.

I turn you are so far away.   The face I know.  The face I want to see more than anything else.  Hides things from me.

“Why do you talk to me that way,  Jacob!  You know I love you.   I’m not trying to hold you down.   There’s things I don’t understand why you do them.”  Penny looks from her distant vantage point.

I see the strings clearly.   They have made a bridle from which I can be lead.  My heart dives deep.   I can’t be the person I was and keep the thing I want.  She is blind to all of this.

“Penny.  You don’t have to understand every thing to accept it.  Sometimes my way works fine for me.”  I can feel scissors cutting me free. 

We stand apart.  The air is thick in emptiness.

2 thoughts on “Strings Attached – Photo Challenge #112

Leave a Reply

